Welcome to GOFASTMOTORSPORTS.com ... ... ... Green Flag - Green Flag - Go Go Go ... ... Brought to you by Ricks Satellite - Where the Big Dish Rules!

Ricks Satellite Wildfeed and Backhaul Forum
Register Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment   Page 170 of 171     «   Prev   167   168   169   170   171   Next
majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2536 
hmm, No segfault on the intel machine either...
__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886
updatelee

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 3,108
Reply with quote  #2537 
The dialog just checks for a variable so you'll get it the first time. Just click save. Maybe I should check for an existing variable. I'll change that tonight.

Git pull and see if the latest commit fixes the segfault. I edited on my phone, very tedious lol but I had some free time waiting for the train

UDL

__________________
TBS6925/5980, Prof 7301/7500/8000, Genpix Skywalker-1, Skystar 2 Express HD
Hauppauge 950Q/Aero/Aero-m, Kworld 330U/435v3/445v3

I use Linux and support open source projects
Download my opensrc projects at http://updatelee.blogspot.com
updatelee

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 3,108
Reply with quote  #2538 
K new variable name. That should work better
__________________
TBS6925/5980, Prof 7301/7500/8000, Genpix Skywalker-1, Skystar 2 Express HD
Hauppauge 950Q/Aero/Aero-m, Kworld 330U/435v3/445v3

I use Linux and support open source projects
Download my opensrc projects at http://updatelee.blogspot.com
majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2539 
grrr... too many devices, too many kernels, too many computers...[biggrin]
I think the issue is on my end...
stack trace from the aero-m
The Aero-M driver is still broken, and it was only device plugged in to the amd64 machine...
so upon first run, there wasn't any /dev/dvb/adapter
The Aero-M looks like it still has the USB dma bug...
Probably gonna have to disable, 'CONFIG_VMAP_STACK' again for a little while until the
aero-m's usb driver gets fixed, or else just not use it for a while...
Will keep my eye out for any patches to 'dvb_usb_mxl111sf'

Works fine with 950q...



__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886
updatelee

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 3,108
Reply with quote  #2540 
Code:
updatelee@dvb:~/src/UDL/v4l-updatelee$ cat .config | grep CONFIG_VMAP_STACK
# CONFIG_VMAP_STACK is not set


looks like it is disabled currently, did you mean enabled?

UDL

__________________
TBS6925/5980, Prof 7301/7500/8000, Genpix Skywalker-1, Skystar 2 Express HD
Hauppauge 950Q/Aero/Aero-m, Kworld 330U/435v3/445v3

I use Linux and support open source projects
Download my opensrc projects at http://updatelee.blogspot.com
majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2541 
no...on the machine that had the issue, it was enabled.
__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886
andyinyakima

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 1,520
Reply with quote  #2542 
Screenshot_2017-05-30_06-10-29.png Screenshot_2017-05-30_06-12-12.png 

Good job UDL,
Thanks for implementing that. Am aware that when going to my RPi and moving the dish
will end up with different settings.[biggrin] Would be nice if mover would contain position but that would
entail more hardware. (Another project).

I did a git pull did the QT compile and there was the -91. copied updateDVB to usr/local/bin moved
my dish to -124.5. Did a reboot, called up updateDVB and there was -124.5.

Will later install mod on RPi and post results to Pi in the Sky.

Glad you implemented it, UDL. I was looking at places to implement it and may have done
an injustice to your code. Any how working good for me.

Thanks



__________________
andyinyakima
-----------------------------------
Recs: TBS6983, TBS5925 __ Ant: 90cm on SG6100__OSes: Linux with v4l-updatelee drivers __ RPi2 with v4l-updatelee drivers

Open Book, Open Source, You have to Open it to Know what's in it!
updatelee

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 3,108
Reply with quote  #2543 
I also wish there was a diseqc command that would store the position but there isnt [frown]

UDL

__________________
TBS6925/5980, Prof 7301/7500/8000, Genpix Skywalker-1, Skystar 2 Express HD
Hauppauge 950Q/Aero/Aero-m, Kworld 330U/435v3/445v3

I use Linux and support open source projects
Download my opensrc projects at http://updatelee.blogspot.com
cmccrae

Registered:
Posts: 19
Reply with quote  #2544 
majortom ... I couldn't find a way to send you a message via bitbucket, so apologies for posting here. 

You may have received a message that you were added as an admin to my account/project (right now it's a 1:1 ratio, so little difference in my eyes).  At least I hope that worked the way I intended.

Firstly, thank you for having enough interest in my work to attempt to keep it current. 

When I started working on it last year, it was because I had time as I recovered from cancer surgery.  Once I returned to work, I found little time for this between work and other family obligations.  I was diagnosed again in December and treated this January/February with radiation and chemo.  Altogether over the last 9 years I've had 4 major surgeries, now 2 rounds of radiation and chemo with the last one.  I was told chemo wouldn't help, but it wouldn't hurt either, so I've thrown everything I can at it.  This is because I was told that they are essentially out of options if it returns.  I was given low odds that this treatment would be successful (1/3), and given its persistence, it's highly possible that I will face this again in the next year or two.  I'm only 44 with a wife and two daughters, 12 and 14.  I wish I had time to spend on this now, and maybe someday I will (survival is still an option!), but as of yesterday I stopped work and am now focused on getting all of those things done that I promised my wife would get done some day, and spending more time with the kids.  This is because of the uncertainty that I face.  If I only have a short time to use, I have to use it in the best way I can find.  I speak openly about this, because maybe in some way, this could help people too.  Some good has to come of this.

My original intent was to use updateDVB as a base/learning tool to write a program which I had visions of using to do site surveys with ... different scans at different elevations, stored in a database, pretty graphics to report, etc.  Some day I'll need a new TV tower, and I'd like to know how high it should be.  I bought a couple rPi3 (why just get one [smile] ), and a USB tuner, and planned to approach my drone-enabled neighbour (I'm Canadian <- that's the correct spelling) to see if he could lift that and a small antenna.  This has yet to happen either.  I was so impressed with all the work that had been done on this project, that I truly wanted to give back as a way of thanks, which is why I put my efforts out for all to see.  I learned a lot, and enjoyed my time doing it.  If it can be of any use, please use any or all of it.

So thank you to everyone involved in this.  With luck, my contributions to this are not finished, and I will return.

Chris
rempfer

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 888
Reply with quote  #2545 
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmccrae
I speak openly about this, because maybe in some way, this could help people too.  Some good has to come of this.
Thank you, Chris.  Some good just has for me.  Best wishes.  -- Dick
majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2546 
Hi Chris,
Thank you for stopping by, sharing your inspiration when you have so many things going on.
Rest assured, you and your family are in our prayers...

While I am not a "tower guy", if you could use some advice with your tower project, feel free to stop by
to discuss the reception goals. It sounds like a fun project.

Bill

__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886
majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2547 
Applied some patches that Darksky and I have been testing for a few months now without issue.
For satellite We added some missing modcodes to the min_snr() in dvbtune.
Since DCII doesn't use the SDT from DVB standards, added a means to parse the channel names on muxes that use DVB-S2 in a DCII format.
For example 97W 3940 H 30000 (image from darksky attached).

DCII service name parsing is kinda crude, but does work... so I disabled it by default, hoping we can refine it later.
If you wish to test it, edit the source code in tuning_thread.cpp and
remove the inline comment located here.

#include "tuning_thread.h"
//#define DCII

Added some more descriptors for PSIP parsing on ATSC.
Parsing the UTC offset and Daylight Savings Status is useful for determining whether an ATSC
station's time is defined correctly in the STT.
Parsing the CVCT, which is almost the same as the TVCT, is only useful if the station sends a CVCT.
I have noticed certain Canadian stations do, and it confuses my LG TV's program info when tuned to them. 


Code:
* 91c1f25 - (HEAD -> master, origin/master, origin/HEAD) add dcii service name parsing. It's a crude work in progress, so commented out #define DCII at the top of source to disable it by default. In order to test it remove the comment. (13 minutes ago) 

* 7043cf4 - only parse stt once. So the STT tree doesn't keep growing (14 minutes ago)

* bf49ee2 - parse_psip_tvct() hidden (14 minutes ago)

* 38508ff - add parse_psip_cvct() Some Canadian Stations seem to send this Cable Virtual Channel Table, so lets parse it (14 minutes ago)

* 7d72eaf - parse_psip_stt() - parse GPS_UTC_offset and daylight_saving information. GPS_UTC_offset is the number of leap seconds that GPS time is ahead of UTC. (15 minutes ago)

* 353af55 - dvbtune: fix whitespace. Some day I need to sync settings between qtcreator's editor and vim. qtcreator sees to mess up whitespace. (36 minutes ago)

* e62b1a1 - dvbtune: add modcodes for dvb-s2 qpsk fec 1/2, 2/3, 4/5. (3 hours ago)

Attached Images
Click image for larger version - Name: atsc_parse_cvct_stt.png, Views: 24, Size: 154.83 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: scripps_dcii_mux.png, Views: 23, Size: 542.55 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: reuters.png, Views: 19, Size: 71.37 KB 

__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886

majortom

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 4,937
Reply with quote  #2548 
Here I will try and describe an unintended "feature" of updateDVB that I happen to like.[biggrin]
Using the 955Q, I have noticed that if I purposely aim at certain strong local ATSC signals
and do a spectrum scan... They'll be missing. I am guessing the RF level is so strong the driver may be returning values that updateDVB can't interpret (like carryover, null, or maybe even negative). The threshold for this using the 955Q tuner seemed to be >= -26 dBm on any channel, would make it disappear in the spectrum scans.
I haven't looked at the code to try and determine why. But at any rate, with OTA too strong of a signal isn't a good thing if you are trying to locate distant signals. So I kinda like this feature, as it is telling me to tone it down.

for instance, prior to padding the UHF RF path at the antenna down by about 6 dB across the board, if I aimed my antenna at this location, the rf level would have been around -22 dBm, and it would never show up in the spectrum scan, even though it would tune fine. In addition no chance of DX at that azimuth.
Now, at this same azimuth, which is as strong as I can make this signal, it not only displays the signal in the spectrum scan, but I can still tune some of the distant CN tower signals at this same azimuth. Effectively giving me a wider swath of azimuth to shoot for, while still keeping the Intermod distortion under control from having too many strong local signals in to the preamp. For this test I used a 2 way Splitter with one port terminated to 75 ohms (3.5 dB Loss) + an extra long RG-6 Jumper cable coiled up, between the antenna and preamp input. Kinda like simulating if I had installed my preamp down in the basement rather than the rooftop (at least on UHF band).

Moral of the story, if we are suspecting intermod problems, the rough rule of thumb, for every dB we can reduce extremely strong local signals on the input, should result in ~3 dB reduction in noise on the output of the preamp caused by IMD in the preamp, seems to hold true here.

Edit: added a snapper of CBLT from the CN tower, while aimed at this previously noisy azimuth.

Attached Images
Click image for larger version - Name: updatedvb_strong_signals.png, Views: 10, Size: 142.03 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: updateDVB_CBLT.png, Views: 10, Size: 166.25 KB 

__________________
Perfect 10 7.5' mesh Chapparal C/Ku Co-Rotor feed, Norsat 8115 CBAND, Norsat 4106A Ku Thomson Saginaw Actuator, Vbox positioner,
Home Brew Polarotor683 Servo circuit. Openbox S9, Prof7500, v4l-updatelee linux drivers installed.
ricardo's geo-orbit archive: https://web.archive.org/web/20150516202529/http://www.geo-orbit.org:80/sizepgs/tuningp2.html#anchor469886

wejones

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 5,640
Reply with quote  #2549 
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom
Here I will try and describe an unintended "feature" of updateDVB that I happen to like.[biggrin]
Using the 955Q, I have noticed that if I purposely aim at certain strong local ATSC signals
and do a spectrum scan... They'll be missing. I am guessing the RF level is so strong the driver may be returning values that updateDVB can't interpret (like carryover, null, or maybe even negative). The threshold for this using the 955Q tuner seemed to be >= -26 dBm on any channel, would make it disappear in the spectrum scans.
  .........



I don't use updateDVB very often, and don't have a 955Q tuner, although I've been thinking of getting one, however I noticed and posted about similar behavior of the Sathero signal meter when tuned to very strong signals. 
   What I found was that when trying to aim my fixed dish at a sat with a very strong signal, ie one that shows a SNR of up around 17 or more, that as I'm moving the dish, the SNR goes up smoothly, approaching somewhere around 16 but then suddenly disappears, ie drops to zero.  I would then move the dish back to where it was, and settle on a SNR in the high 15s.  Then, when I'd go inside, and find that the SNR on my sat receiver was worse than when I started.  I eventually figured out what was happening, and found another weaker transponder to tune on, which allowed me to find the real peak signal, however the weaker signal was one that was variable in strength, so it wasn't always reliable.  I guess what I needed was an in-line attenuator.  I do have one designed for not TVRO purposes, but it has BNC connectors, and I THINK it attenuates too much, so I never bothered trying to connect it via adapters. Easier to just find a weaker transponder.

   

phkarmur

Registered:
Posts: 38
Reply with quote  #2550 

Hi,

I have 6 TBS6908 PCI connected to one machine and have some issue with many satellites.
For example, in EutelSat 10A satellite I see weird spectrum scan output, i have attached some screenshots please have a look in those.

And I can not lock same freq every time, some time i lost few transponders and sometime i can lock!

I think its because of bad signal but i am not 100% sure
And can anyone tell me what should be minimum signal quality and strength for good signal? 

Here are some machine information:
kernel info:

Code:

root@RFSscanner-Bulgaria:~# uname -a
Linux RFSscanner-Bulgaria 4.13.0-rc4+ #1 SMP Fri Sep 15 09:35:03 CDT 2017 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux


CPU info:
Code:

root@RFSscanner-Bulgaria:~# lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                32
On-line CPU(s) list:   0-31
Thread(s) per core:    2
Core(s) per socket:    8
Socket(s):             2
NUMA node(s):          2
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 45
Model name:            Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
Stepping:              7
CPU MHz:               2593.832
CPU max MHz:           3300.0000
CPU min MHz:           1200.0000
BogoMIPS:              5189.89
Virtualization:        VT-x
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              256K
L3 cache:              20480K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0-7,16-23
NUMA node1 CPU(s):     8-15,24-31


Thank you

Attached Images
Click image for larger version - Name: high-lnb.JPG, Views: 3, Size: 35.39 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: lnb.JPG, Views: 5, Size: 33.31 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: high-band.JPG, Views: 4, Size: 87.88 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: low-band.JPG, Views: 4, Size: 96.75 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: bl-high.JPG, Views: 4, Size: 42.04 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: bl-low.JPG, Views: 3, Size: 60.15 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: bl-high-tune.JPG, Views: 3, Size: 110.89 KB  Click image for larger version - Name: bl-low-tune.JPG, Views: 3, Size: 71.88 KB 

Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.

Fellow Members, your posts are welcome here! Do not worry about posting everything perfect. Different receivers and LNB's will give you different Frequencies and Symbol Rates. Some set top boxes, PCI cards and USB receivers, Do Not Require all of the same information that others may need. It is not Required to post everything that others may need to tune in a feed. It is just most important to share the find. We can always adjust the Frequency and Symbol Rates and try the various Modulations and FEC's on our own receivers until we get a lock and then give a polite reply with what works for your receiver, as that information might help others as well. We all appreciate the efforts and energy of the Posters!

Thank You for Visiting GOFASTMOTORSPORTS.com - Keep Your Eyes on the Sky and the Track!